Sweet Dreams

IMG_6596a

Aah the 80’s teen romance novel!  Sweet Dreams novels sure were a “trending” item back in the day in our school library.  As a girl growing up in Australia, those American teens were something of a glamorous mystery to me.  All that talk of snowy winters, hairstyles with ‘bangs’ and ‘barrettes’, summer jobs and oh the anticipation of the heroine finally being kissed by the boy of her dreams.

“P.S. I love you” seems to be the novel everyone remembers.  Perhaps because it was first on the list of titles at the back of each book?  A list I would eagerly scan at the conclusion of each novel and mentally tick off all the titles  I had read.

Those cover girl images are all still so familiar to me now, some decades later.  The sweet face of ‘Katy’ on the cover of “Summer Dreams” is the one most familiar.  I am fairly sure it was the first Sweet Dreams book I ever read, and I can’t help but wonder if such innocent novels would still be as popular with young girls today?

How about you?  Did you have a love of Sweet Dreams novels?  Did your library bag or beach bag always contain a little treasure of such a book?  Oh and what about those Sweet Valley High books?

IMG_6601sd

4 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams

  1. Oh my gosh! I had Forbidden Love until recently. The girls always seemed so glamourous, and so much more mature that us Aussies. It took me a while to realise what bangs and barrettes were. I loved Sweet Valley High as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

